Endings and Beginnings

Today was a rather important day. It was my last day at OPUS as an assistant. For any of you readers who find this news shocking, let’s just say that the position was not made for me after all. However, I’ve left with the good wishes of the director and in good standing, so in the long run it will be just fine. 🙂 The fact that this happened as a bookend of my weekend in Los Banos got me thinking about the nature of cycles and cyclical consciousness as opposed to linear consciousness.

Last Thursday, I attended the memorial service of an amazing woman who was without a doubt my mother’s closest female friend. In many ways, she was a second mother to me, and she was one of the kindest people I have ever had the pleasure of calling a friend. She suffered for three years (at least, there is some speculation as to how long she actually had her disease) with ALS or Lou Gerig’s disease, a horribly fatal and untreatable neurological disorder, which essentially unraveled her body until she just had to give up the fight.

At the memorial service, the minister read the incredibly famous scripture from the Book of Ecclesiastes that talks about how to everything there is a season. I imagine that some might think that this scripture suggests a linear style of consciousness or some kind of evolution. I don’t buy into that. This tradition allows for a deep understanding of  what Indian tradition calls Dharma, a place for everthing and everything in its place. But even further than that, it is an invitation to allow things to be what they are. It is a reminder that life has its rhythm, and that it is ok to allow that rhythm to be whatever it needs to be whenever it needs to be it.

This style of consciousness is consistent with many other mythic traditions, and at this time (the beginning of Halloween week) it makes me reflect on the Celtic connection with death in relationship with the birth of a New Year. That is where I am today. I am learning when and how to embrace and (when the time calls for it) to refrain from embracing.

Wishing a very blessed Samhain to all of my readers…if I don’t see you sooner…

Leave a comment

Filed under Just Life

Leave a Reply

